Australian Public Holidays

There are many different Australian public holidays.

New Years Day (1. January) and Australia Day - 26. January - are both held in all the states.

Labour Day is held in early March in Western Australia, in early May in Queensland and Victoria, and in early October in New South Wales, ACT and South Australia.
New Years Eve 2006, Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Poster by AllPosters. Click on thumbnail to buy

Easter is a public holiday, although what days are exactly off varies a bit between the states. ANZAC Day is held on 25. April in all states.

Queen's birthday is held on second Monday in June, in each state except Western Australia, that instead celebrates Western Australia Day a week earlier.

Cadets Standing to Attention During the Anzac Day Ceremony, Melbourne, Australia
Poster by AllPosters. Click on thumbnail to buy

Western Australia later has Queens birthday in September-October. Northern Territory has Picnic Day on the first Monday in August. Melbourne has the Melbourne Cup in early November, and all the states have Christmas of course.

You Are Secure!

Bookmark and Share

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines